Image

One of the Bike Commuter’s Best Friends

Bike Lane SignThe spring season brings promise of a plethora of outdoor activities. As a recreational and commuter cyclist – directions, music, and training applications are integral parts of my daily rides. Armbands anoy me during my rides and Garmin GPS systems offer high performance training applications that are unnecessary during a morning commute. My solution… The Nite Ize Handleband. Beginning as KickStarter funded project, the Handle Band product is now available at retailers through Nite Ize’s distribution. The Nite Ize Handleband satisfies your bar mount needs without the premium price found on many Smart Phone accessories. Depending on the product, smart phone armbands cost between ten to fifty dollars. For $19.95, the handle band allows the rider to use the direction, training, and music applications without adjusting an armband. Personally, the feeling of an arm band, while cycling, agitates my arm. Further, an arm band can take your focus off the road, which can be detrimental during a morning commute. HandleBand 1 Initially, I did fear that the earphone cord dangling in front my body would become irritable. However, after numerous commutes on my Centurion Dave Scott Ironman bicycle, I realized I never noticed the cord. While I already have a CatEye Strada Wireless Computer on my Felt FW3 road bike, I did try the handle band during a long ride. I found no objection or discomfort in using the handle band and IPhone’s training application. Yet, after all things considered, I plan on sticking with my bike computer for training.

Bike of FeetAt the end of the day, The Nite Ize HandleBand is an inexpensive way to utilize all of your smart phone’s features. It is less expensive than purchasing an Ipod shuffle for music or a Garmin GPS for directions and training programs. I wholeheartedly recommend the handle band for daily cycling commutes.

Happy Riding!

 

Article By: Marie Mason, Outdoors Inc.

2 responses to “One of the Bike Commuter’s Best Friends

  1. This was a fantastic product review! I’m new to the urban biking life and this is a great push to become more invested in this form of transportation

Leave a Reply

